Neil Young and Crazy Horse To Release New Album In October

By on September 17, 2012 in ,

Classic songwriter Neil Young has teamed up again with his band Crazy Horse this time to record a double album of all new original material entitled Psychedelic Pill. The album, set to be released on October 30th, will come out just as the band is resuming their 2012 tour which includes a stop at the TD Garden on November 26th. The album will be available in double CD and triple-vinyl formats with a special high resolution fidelity version of the album on Blu-ray. The band recently released an album full of covers of folk tunes title, Americana, that got surprisingly good reviews. The album was the band’s first return to the studio since 1996s’ Broken Arrow. The chemistry between the band was so good they decided to continue recording right after the Americana sessions were done. longtime Crazy Horse guitarist Frank “Poncho” Sanpedro told Rolling Stone, “I think that [former Crazy Horse producer] David Briggs would be proud of it . . . Once he was gone, I felt like we lost our compass a bit. We had the sound and we had the big machine, and we could play anything and play pretty good, but we weren’t putting any great records together. I mean, Broken Arrow was OK. It wasn’t like Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere or Rust Never Sleeps or Ragged Glory.”

Some of my favorite Neil Young songs are the ones he performs with Crazy Horse, “Powderfinger”, “Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black)” and “Cinnamon Girl” so it will be exciting to see the lineup live. And with promising new tracks from the album such as the 27 minute, 36 second opener “Driftin’ Back ” I’m sure their live set is sure to match the intensity. As “Poncho put it best, “It’s us jamming and having lots of fun.” The band debuted the 16+minute track “Walk Like A Giant” at their show in Albuquerque, NM.

Catch Neil Young and Crazy Horse when they come to the Garden and grab your seats right here!

Here’s the albums official tracklist:

Disc One:
1) Driftin’ Back (27:36)
2) Psychedelic Pill (3:26)
3) Ramada Inn (16:49)
4) Born in Ontario (3:49)

Disc Two:
1) Twisted Road (3:28)
2) She’s Always Dancing (8:33)
3) For the Love of Man (4:13)
4) Walk Like a Giant (16:27)
Bonus Track:
5) Psychedelic Pill (Alternate Mix)


Categories: , , ,

Related Stories